Coca-Cola has been around for what seems like forever. No matter how old you are, Coke has no doubt been a part of your childhood. But have you ever noticed that sometimes, the bright red bottle cap is replaced with a yellow cap? There’s actually a very special reason for it. The yellow caps signify that the soda inside is kosher for Passover.
The yellow cap Coke is kosher for Passover
Kosher, which means “fit, proper or correct” in Hebrew, describes food that adheres to dietary laws in Judaism. Passover, it’s a Jewish religious holiday that occurs during spring and lasts for seven days in total.
During the holiday, Jewish people are prohibited from owning or consuming leavened foods (known as chametz), which include five main grains: wheat, spelt, oats, rye, and barley.
Some people also refrain from eating a variety of legumes, including corn — and that’s where Coca-Cola comes in. According to reports, traditional Coca-Cola contains high-fructose corn syrup, which is made from corn. So, Coca-Cola created a special “kosher for Passover” version of their soda flavored with non-corn–based sweeteners, such as a cane or beet sugar, to allow everyone to enjoy a Coke during the holiday.
Some non-Jewish people also enjoy drinking “Passover Coke” because it’s a throwback to how the drink used to taste when the company used cane or beet sugar, instead of corn syrup, as a sweetener.